Of slump-busters and perfection.

image

the olde english D flies proudly above the House of Soule.

I got this Tigers flag as a Christmas gift for my Dad a few years back.  Since I’ve been back in town I’ve flown it twice just as the team is entering a slump.  As baseball is a sport deeply rooted in superstition, it should come as no surprise that I feel that the flag has been more efficient in killing a losing streak than a Justin Verlander start.

In all seriousness though, this hot/cold routine the Tigers continue to pull is beyond old.  The White Sox are showing no signs of letting up.  When the Tigers win, it seems, so do the Sox.  When the Sox lose, the Tigers have been unable to capitalize. I still think the Tigers are the best team in the Central. However, this season may be a case of the better team, but not necessarily the best team, winning.

Yesterday, Felix Hernandez pitched the 23rd perfect game in MLB history.  I feel it was only a matter of time before “King Felix” (I really hate that nickname) did so. Offhand, I don’t know if he’s been eligible for free agency yet, but believe he will one day leave the Mariners for a contender because they aren’t going anywhere anytime soon.

As for “too many hitters and/or perfect games“; as I’ve said before we are in an era where the level of pitching talent has caught up with hitting, namely the “post-Steriod era”.

And speaking of steroids: Melky Cabrera was suspended 50 games per MLB’s PED policy following positive test. In hindsight, his recent career upswing seemed too good to be true.  Looking back, I’m not really surprised.

The Tigers are off tonight; and there’s not even a game on WGN.  I gotta find something to watch…

Leave a Reply

